



Co-funded by the Erasmus+ Programme of the European Union

Strengthening university autonomy and increasing accountability and transparency of Western Balkans Universities (STAND)

Kick off Meeting 3-5 March, 2021

University of Tirana







Co-funded by the Erasmus+ Programme of the European Union

The University of Tirana was founded on 16 September 1957 under the name of State University of Tirana and is the first Albanian university.

The State University of Tirana was founded of 6 faculties in which some were previously established institutes, such as:

•	Institute of Science	(1947)
•	Institute of Medicine	(1951)
•	Polytechnic Institute	(1951)
•	Institute of Economics	(1951)
•	Institute of Law	(1954)

The University of Tirana and the Polytechnic University were founded in 1991 from the State University of Tirana.





PRESENTATION OF THE UNIVERSITY OF TIRANA (3/3)



2005 – 2006 Curricula according to the Bologna Process

University of Tirana implemented the Bologna Process in 2005. University of Tirana offers:

- around 36 Bachelor degrees *The duration of Bachelor Degrees is generally 3 years.*
- around 100 "Master" degrees The duration of a Master degree is 1 or 2 years.
- The "Doctorate" studies Duration of PhD is 3-5 years.







Since 2013, the University of Tirana consists of:

6 Faculties, two institutes and one branche:

- Faculty of Law
- □ Faculty of Economics
- □ Faculty of Foreign Languages
- □ Faculty of Natural Sciences
- □ Faculty of Social Sciences
- □ Faculty of History and Philology
- □ Institute of European Studies
- □ Institute of Nuclear Physics
- Branches in Saranda (south of Albania)
- 45 Departments
- Around 28 000 students
- Approximately 740 full time academic staff
- Approximately 350 administrative staff





Faculty of History and Philology



Co-funded by the Erasmus+ Programme of the European Union

This faculty provides diploma in these principal direction:

- History
- Albanian Language-Literature
- Geography
- Journalism
- Culture heritage





Faculty of History and Philology



- **French** (French language, literature and civilization; translation and interpretation; language and communication)
- **Italian** (Italian language, literature and civilization; translation and interpretation; language and communication)
- **German** (German language, literature and civilization; translation and interpretation; language and communication)
- **Slavic-Balkan Languages** (language, literature and Slavic-Balkan civilization; translation and interpretation; language and communication)
- **English** (language; British and American studies; English language methodology; translation and interpretation)
- **Spanish** (started academic year 2008-2009)
- Greek (Language, Literature and Greek Civilization, Translation and Interpretation, Interculturol Touristic Communication



Faculty of Social Sciences



- Social Work
- Psychology
- Politics and Governing Political Sciences
- Philosophy
- Sociology





Faculty of Economics



- Economic Computing
- Economics
- Finance
- Banking
- Accounting
- Business Administration
- Public Administration
- Marketing Management
- Tourism Management





Faculty of Law



Co-funded by the Erasmus+ Programme of the European Union

- Law
- Business Law





Faculty of Natural Sciences



Co-funded by the Erasmus+ Programme of the European Union

- Environmental Biology
- Industrial Chemistry
- Mathematics Engineering and Informatics
- Mathematics
- Chemistry and Food Technology
- Chemistry
- Biology
- Informatics
- Physics







- University of Tirana has institutional cooperation with many Universities around the World.
- There are over 80 agreements with European Universities.
- There are many courses which are offered in collaboration with our partners such as a Master degree in Economic European Studies with the University of Bamberg.
- University of Tirana is very active in international projects and is working in increasing its presence.





Involvement of the University of Tirana



The University of Tirana is also partner in various European projects funded by the European Commission such as:

Tempus Projects:

- Interface (Establishment of Career Center Offices in each faculty)
- Strew
- Eureqa

Erasmus Mundus Projects – Mobility of Staff and Students:

- Join EU SEE I, II, III, IV- Active Partner
- Join EU SEE PENTA- UT is currently Co- Coordinator with University of Graz, Austria
- BASILEUS IV, V

IPA Program (Adriatic Region):

PACINNO Project – (Innovation area)







The projects consist in:

- Mobility of academic staff
- Composition of Curricula
- Mobility of Students
- Master in European Economic Study
- Training for new academic staff
- Co-tutele
- Developing and reforming university structure
- Regional and National analyses on Innovation competitiveness







Law No. 80/2015, "On Higher Education and Scientific Research in Higher Education Institutions of the Republic of Albania

UT DEVELOPMENT STRATEGY 2018-2023

UT RESEARCH STRATEGIC PLAN 2018-2022







University of Tirana is committed to:

- make scientific research the main dimension of its activities - make university a better place for the researchers

- make better researchers for the community;

 assure quality in all areas of its research activity;







Thank you!

